Uncategorized

The 2023 When Are You Reading? Challenge

You know I can’t go into another year without facing a reading challenge. 🙂 Here I am in 2023 ready to attempt, once again, the When Are You Reading? Challenge hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

The challenge requires reading books set in 12 different time periods throughout history. Since historical fiction is my jam, I’m eager to get started.

Here are the 12 categories and the books I plan (hah) to read for them.

PRE 1200: Hild by Nicola Griffith

Seventh-ish century Brittain, here I come.

1300-1499: Katherine by Anya Seton

Classic love story? I’ll be the judge of that.

1500-1699: The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

1617 in Norway. Sounds badass.

1700-1799: The Silent Duchess by Dacia Maraini

It’s about “the victim of a mysterious childhood trauma that has left her deaf and mute, trapped in a world of silence.” Probably right up my alley.

1800-1899: Freeman by Leonard Pitts, Jr.

A runaway slave returns to the South after the Confederate surrender.

1900-1919: Cold Sassy Tree by Olive Ann Burns

1920-1939: Jazz by Toni Morrison

1940-1959: This September Sun by Bryony Rheam

1960-1979: God on the Rocks by Jane Gardam

1980-1999: Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid

2000-Present: Little Scratch by Rebecca Watson

The Future: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Yep, finally getting around to this one. 🙂


And those are my best laid plans. Now we’ll see how they pan out throughout the year.

Are you doing any reading challenges this year? Do tell!

Standard

4 thoughts on “The 2023 When Are You Reading? Challenge

  1. Very interesting list! I’ve read Katherine (ages ago) & loved it; I also liked Station Eleven very much. Hild and Jazz are both “sort of” on my own TBR and Jane Gardam is someone I’m interested in reading as well. I look forward to reading your thoughts on all these!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment