What Shannon Read, What We Read: Monthly Recap

What Shannon Read: July 2023

And then it was August. Not quite sure how that happened but here we are.

We continue to make good use of the porch this season. My plants are growing out of control as they should in high summer.

Lots of drinks and food and games of Pétanque have taken place this summer. It’s been a whirlwind and I’ve had something to look forward to every week, from a D&D campaign to a full-on Barbie party this past weekend to simple, casual hangouts at someone’s house. Who could ask for more?

All this activity didn’t leave much time for reading, so I only read two books in July. Here they are!


What Shannon Read in July

Some Notes:

My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell

I first saw this book when The Durrells in Corfu aired on PBS while I was employed at the local library. The book was everywhere. It’s a short memoir detailing this quirky family’s move from England to the Greek island of Corfu. It’s fairly short and there are two sequels.

I was reminded of it by Audible and chose to listen to the audiobook, which is narrated by Hugh Bonneville of Downton Abbey fame. He is a superb reader and I thoroughly enjoyed his engaging style.

The story is both heartwarming and funny, filled with the antics of all the family members and some great dialogue. Also, if you’ve seen the show, you know the setting is beautiful. That really comes across in the book. I’ll definitely be picking up the next two.

The Secrets of Hartwood Hall by Katie Lumsden

You know if there are a governess and a mansion in a book, I’m giving it a try. This book was suggested to me on Goodreads because of my love for Jane Eyre and the whole governess-in-a-spooky-mansion trope. And it was good fun.

Set in 1852, the story centers on Margaret Lennox, a widow who takes a position as governess in spooky Hartwood Hall. The house is your typical forbidding mansion which, Margaret discovers, holds some secrets. Since Margaret has her own secrets, the story builds to an illuminating peak. We meet some interesting characters along the way, including servants who have their secrets too. There may or may not also be a ghost.

Overall, a great fun read for gothic novel lovers.


Since I didn’t have much to report this month, I’ll show you what I’m reading now.

What are you reading? Got any contemporary gothic novel recomendations for me?

Have a good August!

Standard

Leave a comment