What Shannon Read, What We Read: Monthly Recap

What Shannon Read: August 2023

Are you nerdy enough to get “book anxiety” right before a trip? We went camping with the family crew on our weeklong vacation a couple weeks ago—and only camped for one night, mind you.

The night before, I suddenly got worried about having nothing to read at the campground, so I downloaded five Kindle books and brought a paperback with me. As you do.

Dear reader, I did not glance at my Kindle, nor turn a single page. I didn’t read at all. I was too busy hanging with the people I love, enjoying the beach and the campfire. It was bliss.

Below: A few of our crew in the water (possibly too tiny to see them), a grandson by the fire circle (unlit!), and the cooler bag I accidentally left out, which was hilariously ravaged by raccoons during the night. They unzipped the bag with their deft little fingers and ate six croissants and a Costco-sized tub of dip, among other goodies.

What a time.

Other than that, it’s been the usual late summer shenanigans: porch sitting (with cocktails), bars and restaurants with friends, and good family time. I lead a seriously charmed life, people.

I did also manage to read some books…..


What Shannon Read in August

I read six books in August, including three nonfiction and three fiction. One was a re-read.

Some Notes:

Splash: 10,000 Years of Swimming by Howard Means

I saw that Sam of Taking on a World of Words has been reading this book and was immediately intrigued. A history of swimming in stories, it covers instances of humans swimming, in oceans, rivers, lakes, and pools, from ancient history to the contemporary Olympics.

I thoroughly enjoyed each anecdote, especially the unusual feats made by famous swimmers, and the interesting tales of ancient swimmers in places like Greece and Persia.

Local Woman Missing by Mary Kubica

Brain candy with a supposed-to-be-surprising-but-seemed-to-me-an-unrealistic-ending. I read the ending and went, “Oh, don’t be silly.” Still enjoyed the build up along the way though.

How Can I Help You by Laura Sims

Ok, this thriller was much better. I saw it on BookTok, where a Tokker advertised it as a slow burn and, once I learned it was set in a library, I had to pick it up.

It features one obsessive narrator with a secret identity and a dodgy past. Perfect fit for me. The second narrator is more neurotic and ends up being the hero of the story. I enjoyed reading it from the perspective of both.

I don’t want to spoil anything for you with a synopsis, so here’s the Goodreads overview, which is much more adept than anything I could think of to say about the book.

Hidden Pictures by Jason Rekulak

Another well-written thriller. I’m always on the hunt for these and was gratified to learn about Jason Rekulak. Here’s hoping he writes a few more in coming years.

This story features a nanny with a seedy past who moves in with a family that lives in a possibly haunted house (as you know, totally a favorite trope of mine).

There is a local legend that looms over the quiet, contemporary suburb in which they live. And the child for whom the woman nannies begins to draw pictures that become more and more disturbing.

Really enjoyed this one.

Great Catherine: The Life of Catherine the Great, Empress of Russia by Carrolly Erickson

I knew next to nothing about Catherine the Great, but she’s often mentioned in histories I’ve read about other monarchs and noble people of similar time periods (1762-1796). And, of course, her life and times were fascinating, as was her personality and character.

Her story, like those of many women who rose to such powerful positions throughout history, was both luminous and tragic at turns.

She lived the glamorous life of a noble, but had little autonomy or power over her own life in the early goings. She was beaten, had affairs, was highly educated, and was both loved and hated by various noble factions.

On two instances of her having given birth, her babies were taken from her to be raised by the dowager empress while Catherine languished in post-childbirth pain. Attended by only one noblewoman, sick and without comforts, Catherine wasn’t even allowed to see the babies she’d just birthed.

And, yet, she also managed a coup that overthrew her own husband, Peter III, which brought her to power. Badass.

Quite a story and I really enjoyed Carrolly Erickson’s writing.

Desert Solitaire: A Season in the Wilderness by Edward Abbey

Edward Abbey, what a dude.

I picked this up for a second time because I felt like I didn’t really give it a fair shake the first time I read it several years ago. At that time, it seemed too dense, too meditative, too plodding.

But I needed some nature writing in my life and Abbey’s season as a ranger at Arches National Park outside Moab, Utah seemed just the ticket somehow.

And I loved it. I loved hearing (via audiobook) about the vast desert landscapes, the plants, the terrain, and the animals. I laughed at Abbey’s derisive portrayals of needy tourists, even as he admits to the necessity of having park visitors, whose trampings help pay to preserve the landscapes he adores.

While obviously dated in many ways, this is a classic of nature writing and I highly recommend it.


That’s it for August! On tap for September are more thrillers and I’ve got some good nonfiction lined up.

I’m sure I’ll also be getting into the coming fall vibes as the weather changes and will be looking for fall-ish books. Let me know if you have any recommendations!

Here’s what I’m reading now.

Bye-bye for now!

Standard

2 thoughts on “What Shannon Read: August 2023

Leave a comment