What Shannon Read, What We Read: Monthly Recap

Annual Reading Wrap-up: 2023

Happy New Year! I bet that, as the clock struck midnight, you were thinking to yourself, well, now that the year is over, I’d better check in with Shannon to see how many books she read in 2023.

And you’re in luck! After drunkenly swigging champagne at midnight, and ok, a recovery day in between, I have put together a post of nerdy book stats. What a way to start the year! Let’s go.


Reading Wrap-up with Nerdy Book Stats

Total books read: 63 (Wildly, that’s 44 fewer books than last year.)
Fiction: 44
Nonfiction: 19 
Female authors: 47
Male Authors: 16
Nonbinary: 0 (I have a poor track record here.)
Non-white authors: 5 (Yikes. Will do better in 2024.)
E-books: 22
Audiobooks: 35 (These numbers won’t add up to the total because I sometimes switched from ebook to audiobook and back, etc.)
Re-reads: 12


Most-Read Genres

No real surprises here, to be honest.

Historical Fiction: 14 Books

I completed all 12 books for the When Are You Reading Challenge?, which I mostly finished early in the year. It was so fun picking out a book for each category.

Despite being historical-reading-based, I found that the challenge actually encouraged me to get out of my comfort zone and read more widely. If Sam hosts it again this year, I’m in.

These are some of my favorites from the year:

Memoir/Autobiography: 9 Books

Some of my favorites:

Litearary Fiction

I read very few other genres this year and mostly stuck to literary fiction. Again, some of my faves:

Nature/Outdoors/Gardening: 12

I also read heavily in this category where I’ve lumped all outdoorsy topics together. Some of these also fell into memoir and literary fiction.

I particularly enjoyed these:


New Year, New Books

My reading goals for the year include:

1- Join the When Are You Reading? Challenge if it’s hosted again.
2- Reading more diversely, with a focus on books by Black authors. I’m aiming to read at least 20.
3- I’ve set my Goodreads challenge goal at 52 books for the year. Totally attainable based on years past. But, honestly, I don’t care too much about this goal. It doesn’t matter to me whether I read 20 books or 100 in a year. The point is to enjoy and to learn from what I’m reading.


Got any reading goals for the year? I’d love to hear them!

Thanks for stopping by.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Annual Reading Wrap-up: 2023

Leave a comment