What Shannon Read, What We Read: Monthly Recap

What Shannon Read: January/February 2024

I read 21 books in January and February and 12 of them were Jennifer Weiner books. As I was off work and feeling low, I needed easy-to-read comfort fiction in January and so took great comfort in my Jennifer Weiner deep dive. I read a book every two days for a while, sometimes one per day.

The only books that brought me out of my little tailspin were some very good historical fiction novels. I also read some speculative fiction for my book club and one good mystery/thriller that I found recommended on Tiktok (“booktok” is a super handy place to get recommendations).

Here’s a wrap-up.

Some notes:

Pineapple Street by Jenny Jackson

Rich people. They have feelings too. I usually have trouble caring about them, but I somehow got sucked into this story anyway.

It is the story of three sisters and their families, a clan of one-percenters living in Manhattan. Each sister has chosen a different path in life and the book examines their choices while illuminating differences between the haves and have-nots in society.

The book is well-written and the story is self-aware, which made reading about rich people interesting rather than just tolerable.

Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel

I love Emily St. John Mandel’s writing. This is the second book of her speculative fiction I’ve read, the first being Station Eleven.

It’s essentially a story of time travel and the fascinating ways in which humans try to regulate this new ability to move between timelines. All through the eyes of compelling characters with their own lives and challenges. Eventually, and very satisfyingly, these lives converge. Highly recommend.

The Queen’s Fortune by Allison Pataki

This was a fun dip into the French revolutionary era. It is the story of Desiree Clary, who, as a young woman, falls in love with Napolean Bonaparte. She is courted by him for a couple of years and, in the meantime, her sister marries Napolean’s brother. Much drama ensues, especially once Bonaparte’s military campaigns gather steam.

I enjoyed the characters and Allison Pataki’s ability to bring the world of revolutionary France to life.

The School of Mirrors by Eva Stachniak

Speaking of France, I was also fascinated by The School of Mirrors. This is the story of Veronique, a teenager living in poverty near Versailles. When she is discovered by a scout, Veronique is whisked off to a secret villa in Versailles and becomes part of an operation overseen by Madame Pompadour, the famous mistrees of King Louis XV.

Told they are to serve the needs of a Polish count related to the queen, the girls at the villa have no idea that they are actually serving the king. There is much intrigue in the house, especially when Veronique becomes one of the king’s favorites.

I won’t give away the entire plot, but suffice to say, it’s juicy, tragic, and, in the end, hopeful.

Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell

I don’t know why I avoided this novel for so long. It’s the little-known story behind the genesis of Shakespeare’s Hamlet. O’Farrel’s writing is incomparable and I can’t sing the praises of this novel highly enough. Here’s a synopsis if you’re interested.

The Marriage Portrait by Maggie O’Farrell

Another stunning historical fiction novel from O’Farrell. I’m obsessed with this book! I don’t know much about Rennaisance Italy and it was a joy to be taken there by O’Farrell through her main character Lucrezia, the third daughter of a duke who must marry her dead sister’s betrothed.

What follows is a game of cat and mouse between husband and wife, danger and suspicion present in every interaction. It was sad and wonderful and it sucked me right into the story of Lucrezia’s life.

And very quickly:

  • I thought City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert was excellent on setting, but I found it slightly boring. Not sure why, honestly.
  • What Lies in the Woods by Kate Alice Marshall was a fun and twisty small-town mystery/thriller. Definitely recommend it.
  • My favorite books in the Jennifer Weiner deep-dive were The Breakaway and Mrs. Everything (the lone historical fiction novel because of course).

If you’ve made it this far, thanks for reading! I head back to work in March, so it should be a slower reading month and easier for me to keep up with the blogging.

I now leave you with a cute picture of Artemis.

Happy Reading!

Standard

Leave a comment